about us


The philosophy of the Faculty is in keeping with that of the NUC. The Faculty, as an integral part of the University, aspires to the ideal of a community–based and community–oriented institution whose programmes in teaching and research are designed to offer solutions to the agricultural problems of the area where it is situated in particular and the state in general.

The faculty aims at training young people in the various areas of agriculture to acquire skills and competence necessary to scientifically adopt techniques in agricultural resources management and production.

The faculty also has a Department of Food Science and Technology where the techniques of food preservation, processing and storage are acquired.


The Faculty at present comprises of four departments as follows:-

  • 1. Department of Agricultural Economics & Extension.
  • 2. Department of Animal/Fisheries Science and Management.
  • 3. Department of Agronomy and Ecological Management.
  • 4. Department of Food Science and Technology.


Agriculture is an indispensable industry in Enugu State of Nigeria, as is the case in most progressive areas of the world. Efficient agricultural methods must be developed and harmonized with current practice to pave the way for an export–oriented agricultural enterprises that generates revenue for the state while ensuring that good food is made available for its teeming population. With food produced abundantly at minimal cost, people of all economic standings can afford to have the opportunity to feed well, a condition related to health and productivity. Furthermore, the general increase in the standard of living of Nigerians has greatly raised the demand for a variety of health compatible food and feed for man and farm animals. It is the realization of these facts that makes it exigent to scientifically intensify and improve animals and crop production methods.

Faculty Programme

The Faculty of Agriculture of the Enugu State University of Science and Technology has the solutions to agricultural ambitions of the Enugu State and Nigeria as its primary aim. The Faculty of Agriculture is a conglomerate of Departments with common fundamental and applied science needs on which individual specialist training are later cemented to produce candidates for the degree of Bachelor of Agriculture (B. Agric.) in Agricultural Economics and Extension, Animal/Fisheries Science Management and Agronomy and Ecological Management.

The faculty also prepares candidates for the B.Sc degree in Food Science and Technology which emphasizes expertise in post-harvest handling, processing and storage of Agricultural commodities. The philosophy and objectives of the undergraduate’s programmes in the Faculty of Agriculture is as described by individual departments


We have world class lecturers and teaching equipments

  • Learn everything you want
  • Learn from top expert
  • Collaborate with Colleagues